So What Am I Doing?

This project is a monster.  There are a total of 900 films to be watched in this insanely huge movie challenge.  That’s not including the option to review other movies I have already seen.  It can get a bit complicated to follow, so let me try to lay it out for you.

I will be watching the Top 10 rated films from each year, according to Flickchart.com since the first Academy Awards in 1929.  The 1929 Academy Awards included films from 1927 and 1928, so I will start with the year 1927.  To keep this challenge fresh and non-repetitive, I have added the proviso that at least 5 of the 10 movies shall be films that I have never seen.  In earlier years this is no big deal as I have only seen 2 or 3 movies from that era.  However in later years, I have seen most of Flickchart’s Top 10 so that means I have to venture outside of the Top 10.  Because I am such a film nerd, movies that get left out from each year are optional for me to review.  Although, let’s be real:  I’m going to review them anyway.  While setting up this whole challenge, I got a little scared about the order of viewing, and the potential of getting burned out on classics or silent films too early on.

Enter the second proviso.  I have a soft guideline to watch a movie per decade in ascending order and also to alternate between a movie already seen and an unseen movie.  Example:  First up from the 1920s will be Sunrise.  I have already seen Sunrise, so my next film from the 1930s will be an unseen film.  I am also a member of a few outside movie challenges.  The movies given to me from those challenges may put me out of order, hence the “soft guideline” for the order of viewing.

Since I will be writing a lot of reviews, it might be hard to navigate the main page for them.  For this reason, I have included a “Movies by Decade” tab in the top right corner of the main page. Each review is indexed by year and is never further than 3 clicks away.  There will be hundreds of reviews and I am hoping to get out a couple a week.  So please check back every once and a while for the new ones.

Yes, this whole thing is confusing and honestly, probably overkill.  But here’s the thing; you are going to have a plethora of movie reviews, and not just for new films.  There will be many classics.  There will be many foreign films. There will also be many blockbusters.  Bottom line:  You will broaden your movie horizons.  Your eyes will be opened to types of film that you didn’t even know you had an interest in.  So hop on into my Silver Screen Time Machine.  It’s a long and winding road and I am very excited to be your guide.

Leave a Reply

